How long before LED flashlights will be completely superior to the SureFire M6?

How long before LED flashlights will be completely superior to the SureFire M6?

• Current production LEDs are already capable of rendering the M6 obsolete in every way.

Votes: 4 4.5%
  • LED flashlights may completely replace an M6 in 1-2 years time.

Votes: 18 20.2%
  • LED flashlights may completely replace an M6 in 3-5 years time.

Votes: 30 33.7%
  • LED flashlights may completely replace an M6 in 6-10 years time.

Votes: 14 15.7%
  • LED flashlights may completely replace an M6 in 11 or more years time.

Votes: 3 3.4%
  • LED flashlights will reach a performance ceiling but will still out-perform an M6 eventually.

Votes: 7 7.9%
  • LED flashlights will reach a performance ceiling but may never completely out-perform an M6.

Votes: 18 20.2%

• Total voters

Flea Bag

Enlightened
Pardon me for I am no expert on the topic... Do you get the impression that LED development is slowing?

I've read that the new K2 LEDs are capable of being brighter and more heat tolerant than Luxeon 3 LEDs. However, I also read that they require more energy to put out the same light as a conventionally driven Luxeon 3. So brighter but less efficient at lower output levels.

I also recall someone saying previously that the Luxeon 5 is basically four Luxeon 3 LEDs put together and that heat is starting to be the limiting factor for high light output. Many of the better LED lights today require built-in thermal protection to avoid permanent heat damage.

Then not that long ago there was the lumileds 100W led which (IMHO), judging from the pictures only, didn't look to any more impressive than a 100W incandescent in output. Not sure about runtime though so I'm not very confident in my findings.

After hearing about all this, are you getting roughly the same basic impression that I'm getting?