LED conversion what batt fits in what?

napalm-2002

Enlightened
Please guys help me out.I'm new to this game.We all talk about Led conversions but tell me what size batt fits in place of a AA or a AAA.Sometimes you guys lose me on the batt side.

And also how does a LED really work.

thanks
tongue.gif
confused.gif

D

**DONOTDELETE**

If you are new to the game, may I recommend to pay a visit to the holy halls of LEDs:
http://ledmuseum.home.att.net

You will find guidance and answers around everything to do with LEDs...

Have fun,

pahntomas2002

napalm-2002

Enlightened
thanks for the led site and the battery site but i was looking more for something that someone put together for the battery stuff.

ie,an a23 fits in were two AAA's might.
i want to now what could fit where.
thanks a bunch guys.

my quote is "Beware of the demon tweak"
cool.gif

D

**DONOTDELETE**

Ah, now I got what you want!
wink.gif

My recipes are:

1. Fit 4 AA where 1 D cell was. They are also a little bit shorter, so you can fit 20 AAs in a 4 Dcell Maglite.

2. You can replace 2 AAs (f.e. Mini Mag or clones) by 3 N cells plus a little spacer. They are also a little bit thinner, so you will perhaps have to wrap plastic film around them (I use 3 N cells in a Mini Mag with 7 LEDs and they give you a really plus of brightness, but at high runtime cost).

3. The 6V and 12V little alkaline cells (MN21 and similar..) are good to use in 1AAA flashlights which you want to convert to leds. The disadvantage is they have only minimal capacity (as they are simple button cell stacks). And they are shorter than a AAA so you will have to use a larger spring or a spacer.

4. 3x AAAA (yes, 4 times A) are told to sometimes replace 1 AA cell, if there is a little air in the flashlight (they are a little bit larger). Havent tried this one for myself yet.