Noob needs flashlight (help please!)

• Thread starter **DONOTDELETE**
  • Start date
D

**DONOTDELETE**

This is my first post on this board and I'd like to start off on the right foot. My first impression was WOW.
smile.gif
You guys are really into this stuff! I dabble in appropriate technology and I just generally like out of the box sortof stuff, and I also enjoy engineering and other neat things. I know I'm no electrical engineer but I've been doing my best to learn the lingo on the board in the past couple hours or research.
------------------------------

I'd like something with the followng features:
1.First and foremost quality. Nice solid construction and good componentry and design. Cosmetics are a plus but not required.
2.Must use white LEDs. I do some electrical stuff and I can't tell you how many times I've been stuck guessing at wire colors whilst using my amber LED'd light. (my startronics one).
3.Nice evenly dispersed light is a plus, and I also like a fairly focused beam for longer range "spotting".
4.Effieicncy is a plus. I'd like to have 4+ hours of runtime on a given "set" of batteries.

The two main flashlights I was interested in were the ARC AAA and the Turtlelite flashlights. I'd like something pretty powerful, enough to see by when taking a walk through the woods in the middle of the night or something like that. I don't know if I want C batteries, D, or AA or AAA, but either way I want decent power, medium size, and something well built and will last for years of abuse.

Is there anything like a C-celled ARC AAA light?

Thanks for the help in advance.
-Greg

geepondy

Flashlight Enthusiast
<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by greg:

I'd like something with the followng features:
1.First and foremost quality. Nice solid construction and good componentry and design. Cosmetics are a plus but not required.