how far does a 5w luxon thow?

scotty2hotty

Newly Enlightened
im a total hack newbie to do it your self electronic's. wot im attempting to do is make a small powerfull torch\light of some sort to attach to the front of my compound bow so that i can hunt at night. Im hoping some one may be able to help me, ceeping in mind that i have size and weight restictions. :candle:

Morelite

Flashlight Enthusiast
In general, Lux V's don't throw very well with the smaller reflectors. You may be better off looking into a Lux III light with a 27mm reflector if you want throw in a small package.

Lee1959

Flashlight Enthusiast
Depends upon what kind of arm it has ;).

Sorry couldnt resist. Actually I think it is dependant upon a lot of issues that will be explained better than I can. Using different lens like the Inova Tiros greatly increases throw, but decreases sidespill.

frisco

Enlightened
You should check out the 7w Golston .... pretty cheap and throws far. This could give you a baseline for what you want to build.... or it could be a solution !

frisco

scotty2hotty

Newly Enlightened
A 7w Gaulstone? sorry my attempt at humer wot is it and wher would i find one? and roughly how much in aus dollars.

BentHeadTX

Flashlight Enthusiast
LuxeonV's can throw as long as the reflector is very large. LuxVs are 4 times the size of LuxIII's and need a larger reflector to focus it down to a spot. Think something the size of a Mag 2D head which is too large for your requirements. As morelight states, get a LuxeonIII with a 27mm reflector... that will punch a hole through the darkness and won't be too large to fit on your bow.

TrueBlue

Flashlight Enthusiast
sfthfrankenstein7na.jpg

How far you want to throw you light is proportional to the amount of money you can afford to throw away. Small wallet- 40 feet. 165 feet and more with a fat wallet (the wallet then becomes small.) It is hard to use less once you see how well a precision Lux V light works.