part of my right ear is swollen up like a balloon

markdi

Flashlight Enthusiast
it has been this way for about 4 or 5 days. - it hurts.

I have no medical coverage.

should I poke it with a needle and try to drain it ?

jtice

Flashaholic
not that I am a doctor :p
but I would try it, sounds like you have a fluid buildup there,
maybe a staff infection?
How deep under the skin does it feel?

~John

Morelite

Flashlight Enthusiast
I suppose you could, but I would visit a general/family doctor. That should not cost more than a normal visit (40-50 bucks)

CLHC

Flashaholic
Ouch—

I sure would not want to aggravate it any further. Pretty much what Morelite stated.

Wish you the best!

nerdgineer

Flashlight Enthusiast
Infections in your head area are potentially very serious. They can easily - and very quickly - spread to your eyes, nasal cavities, and brain and - depending on the resistance of the bug to antibiotics - can be very hard to eradicate thereafter. Your health is much more important than money so go see a doctor or free clinic or whatever and get it looked at immediately.

No joke - really...

nethiker

Enlightened
You can check WebMD, they have a symptom checker for ear problems. I'm sure their advice is on the conservative side and it should be if you are trying to self treat/diagnose.

I would be concerned with any infection. It may be worth the small expense up front rather than wait for or cause it to become a bigger problem/expense down the road.

Radio

Modulated Moderator
Dude!!! Don't touch it! Go to the Emergency room NOW! so they can figure out what it is. Hospitals MUST provide a certain amount of free medical care to patients that can not pay, Go to the ER.

PhotonWrangler

Flashaholic
I agree with others here. Get yourself to an E.R. asap! You could easily lose your hearing in that ear permanently, and other bad things could happen too.

Rothrandir

Flashaholic
i had a swollen ear once myself.