Torchlight for Nocturne Photography

M

Mezzotint

Hello everyone! I'm new here and this is my very first post thread. Hope u guys can gimme some advise on torchlights. :)

I'm a night photographer and I know nuts abt the kind of lights you guys are playing. Recently I'm serious into nocturne photography i.e. light-painting in the night in dark places, using color gels. I was looking for a strong thrower spot beam torchlight. In the end I got a Johnlite "Search Guard" - a Rechargeable Super Bright (1,000,000 Candle Power) Quartz Halogen Lantern from Home Fix for S$39.50. It gives warm yellow spot light with a ring of halo light around the spot light which I think might affect the way I light-paint my scene in the dark. A fully charged in-built battery can last for abt 2.5 hours which I find not enuff. I read in some of my fav nocturne photographers' website and they are using Maglites. Well taking into accounts that they made nocturne pictures under moonlit nights.

I'm looking for a good torchlight that's durable and can throw light beyond 20 meters. My budget range from $100-150 preferably not with an in-built rechargeable battery. Any good recommendation from the serious hobbyists here? Where can I get the lights u recommended? Appreciate for yr time and effort.

Cheers! :)

spoonrobot

Enlightened
First: I recommend an LED light for your needs. LEDs can be focused into more effective beam patterns than incandescent. Head over to www.flashlightreviews.com and after familiarizing yourself with flashlights in general check out the LED section, look for lights such as the:

+Surefire L2, L4, L5, and U2. (The L2/L5 were recommended as tops by the urban explorers I talked to.)

+The Pentagonlight L3.

+Some of the 5mm LED cluster lights; more LEDs is better.

Second: I recommend a light of at least 100 lumens. Expect runtime to be around 1-2 hours but carry spare batteries and don't worry about it.