Seeking advice on a "super torch"?

JD Spydo

Newly Enlightened
Being I have more or less become addicted to Surefire flashlights here in the last year I still have one more addition to my flashlight arsenal that I want to complete. I have seriously been looking at Surefire's 10X Dominator. All 500 lumens of that bad boy I would like to have for when I go ATV riding at night in the wetlands where I work.

We have a deer population there that is so much fun to spotlight ( not poaching) them at night and to watch them run in herds. I have been eyeballing this Surefire 10X Dominator for about 6 months now but I have been hesitant to pull the trigger. There are 2 hurdles that I just can't get over. #1 is the fact that the unit cost so much # 2 is the fact that they only rate this thing to run about 20 minutes per battery charge.

I just figure a bunch of you season pros and flashlight afficionados could probably give me some very valuable input on this one. If theres a better way to go then I want to know about. OK what's the scoop:)

Last edited:

maverick

Enlightened
Re: Seeking advise on a "super torch"?

If you are prepared to wait a little while, perhaps you can wait for AWR's rechargeable M6 regulated powerpack. His project isn't complete yet, but with the extension module and a 4800 pack, you should be able to get about a 1 hour run time using the HOLA which is 500 lumens. Another advantage you have using this method is that the M6 throws significantly further than the 10X since it has the turbohead. I have both lights and use/like the M6 more, the 10X is left plugged into my car as an always ready emergency light.

Aaron1100us

Enlightened