Video Wall LED's

jtivat

Flashlight Enthusiast
Video Wall LED\'s

Hey all,
I am new to led's I work for an Audio Visual Firm and have 3 or 4 bad bricks from a LED Video Wall. They are full of red green and blue leds are this the same led's used in flashlights?

EMPOWERTORCH

Enlightened
Re: Video Wall LED\'s

Is it possible for you to post a picture of the bricks?
It may be that each LED is a tricolour LED such as is used in some single-LED "rave" torches.
Are you thinking of extracting the LED's from the brick to install into torches?

jtivat

Flashlight Enthusiast

Sorry I don't have a digital camera. I am going to try and get some out they appear to be in with an epoxy ( any ideas ) they do put then in groups of five two blue two red one green. These groups of five are in rows of 10 and heat synced.

EMPOWERTORCH

Enlightened

Thst sounds logical JT, as each group of 5 LED's will form 1 pixel of your videoscreen.
The eye is most sensitive to green light, so to balance the colour there are twice as many red and blue LEd's as there are greens.
It would be hard to determine how bright the LED's are for torch use. If the videoscreen is designed to be used in high daylight conditions then the LED's would have to be daylight-visible and therefore must emit a couple thousand mcd a piece. If you can extract them in thier pixel groups you could build a multicoloured LED torch which when driven properly could produce virtually any visible colour including white. The torch could be controlled either using simple pots and switches, or using a sophisticated microprocessor circuit such as one would find in an Eternalight Rave'n torch (as reviewed by several members of this forum).

snakebite

Flashlight Enthusiast

if they are potted in epoxy good luck pulling the leds.but if there are enough good ones you might try making an area light with it.

jtivat

Flashlight Enthusiast