Source here in Australia...

ayashko

Newly Enlightened
Hi all, noob here, need advice. I've spent a few hours going through posts to get an idea of what to get, but waaay too much information. I understand this has probably been asked before a bazillion times, but hey, you're fanatics right? so I'd appreciate a bit of a hand if you all don't mind.
Need a new light, but decent lighting is a bit hard to find here in Melbourne.
Need recommendations for online stores from the US, too.

Prerequisites;

1. LED, regulated, prefer lux I, or III, etc not 5mm.

2. Must run AA's (1.5V), maybe 4 of? more if it's worth it (lumens/throw) else even a really efficient 2 cell would be nice...

3. Good life on battery charge ie; efficient.

4. Smaller the better. Saying that though, my first priority is output.

5. Did i mention output? Brighter the better - prefer something not too tight. Super narrow spot not really practical.

This will be used for emergency/maintenance work on bikes during races/safari's etc so therefore the need to be smallish (I carry enough stuff on the bike as it is...), and pulling apart the cases or repairing tubes etc at night is a pain. Oh, it's gotta be tough too, no flimsy design/materials.

Have seen some killer modded lights eg; https://www.candlepowerforums.com/threads/120198 - do these things come up for sale at all?

Anyone else here from Aus? Had any experience with ordering from O/S?

Appreciate the help, thanks all,

Cheers

Last edited:

quokked

Enlightened
AA's in a Luxeon?
Hmmm :)
goto the Computer Swap meets, there's a Asian Dealer who sells lights direct import from China, like Nuwais and the AA lights, I remember she does Box Hilll swap meet...You can't be a Fenix Light from those people though.

There's always Jaycar. www.jaycarelectronics.com.au
if you want a phyiscal presence, or the outdoorsy shops on Lt Lonsdale Street in the city...
Personally i'd just order from Lighthound
www.lighthound.com
in the states.

OldGreyGuy

Enlightened