low mA led

rbmyr8

Newly Enlightened
Hello,
I'm trying to attach an led between the jack and the headphones of a regular set of headphones which would act as a strobe that flashes to the beat. It works, but only on the loudest output we have in our house. I was hoping to make it work for my cd player. I presented the problem to a guy at radio shack, and he said that I probably needed a lower mA led, which would be more sensitive to the low current of a music signal. I bought a couple 15 mA leds, but they weren't any help at all- they still worked, but only when the sound was as loud as possible. I found a couple 2 mA leds online, but I really don't want to order 10 of them and wait a week to get them... I was wondering if I could find an led with a very low mA rating in some toy or something. Does anyone know what would use a very low mA led? I'm not very experienced with electronics and circuitry, so if I'm not making sense, please excuse me lol.

-Thanks

IsaacHayes

Flashlight Enthusiast
You need a high brightness low Vf led.

A high brigthness Red/Red-orange led would work. Try that out.

greg_in_canada

Flashlight Enthusiast
Another approach is to use an op-amp or something similar to amplify the signal so that the voltage is high enough to drive the LED at normal levels. The downside is that you need to power the op-amp somehow. The upside is that isolate the non-linear load of the LED from the headphone amp which may make the music sound distorted.

A low Vf LED is a good and easy first thing to try though.

Greg

Oracle

Newly Enlightened
Radioshack's motto should be "You've got questions, we've got batteries". Their sales people have no clue what they're talking about.