Can't seem to find any 1, 2, or 3 ohm resistors

Orion

Flashlight Enthusiast
Can\'t seem to find any 1, 2, or 3 ohm resistors

Does anyone have some? I have a 3D and a 3C LS flashlights that need some resistance, but all I can get is 10 ohms at the lowest. Anyone have a few extra?

Thanks!

lambda

Flashlight Enthusiast
Re: Can\'t seem to find any 1, 2, or 3 ohm resistors

Orion,

I've got 1.0, 3.3, and 3.9 1/2 watt resistors; how many do you want?

Lambda

BugLightGeek

Flashlight Enthusiast

1/2 watt? wouldn't that be quite a bit of overkill? (I'm probably wrong since I'm just learning this stuff) But, I thought that 1/4 watt would be more than enough and even 1/8 watt would be acceptable as well.
confused.gif

Also, Orion, check out this page. I just ordered some 15, 33 & 68 Ohm resistors from them and they have the amounts you're looking for.

lambda

Flashlight Enthusiast

Originally posted by ChrisM:
[QB]1/2 watt? wouldn't that be quite a bit of overkill? (I'm probably wrong since I'm just learning this stuff) But, I thought that 1/4 watt would be more than enough and even 1/8 watt would be acceptable as well.
confused.gif

QB]
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">ChrisM,

A 1 ohm resistor passing 1 amp generates 1 watt. It may be necessary to combine three 3 ohm together to make a one ohm resistor capable of handling the power requirements for high currents.

BugLightGeek

Flashlight Enthusiast

But, this is for what kind of application? 1AA & 2N's? 3D's?

Is it enough to protect 1-3 5mm LED's in varying flashlight mods? Is it enough to protect 1 or 2 LS LED's?

like I said...just learning this electrical stuff
smile.gif

Orion

Flashlight Enthusiast

Thanks, Lambda! I could use a supply of about 4 of the 3.3 ohm. Perhaps about 8 of the 1 ohm.

A quick question. If you series one 3.3 ohm resistor with a 1 ohm resistor, does that mean you have 4.3 ohms of resistance? Is it that simple?

sunspot

Flashlight Enthusiast