netofficer3710

Newly Enlightened
i'm new to the world of "good flashlights" and recently purchased my first 3 led lights
I got a dorcy metal gear 1 watt led light
a guide gear 21 led light
and a garrity nichia led aluminum flashlight

(all three lights use 3 AAA)

I am very impressed with the dorcy as I find it to be very bright with very good throw

I find the guide gear light to make an excellent floodlight but I find the momentary push button/twist on to be very annoying

lastly I got the garrity nichia led aluminum flashlight today because I thought it looked sharp but got it home to find that it has a single 5mm led and it has absolutly no sidespill and very little throw. It may come in handy however for bow hunting to get to my treestand due to the dim red led light produced while using the red lense filter (the dim red light will not freak the animals like my bright 1 watt dorcy would)

has anyone tried any of these lights?
what did you think of them?
how do these lights compare to what else is on the market?

CLHC

Flashaholic
Greetings and Welcome!

I don't have any of those lights you've listed, but do have the Dorcy Super 1 Watt LED which surprised very much with its brightness (warmer white) and decent throw with great uniform spill (corona).

There are many many many lights out on the market from $0.## all the way to $$$$.00+. From so-so lights to finely built ones. Then again, that depends on one's needs (more like wants) and of course—time and money.

Try checking out FlashlightReviews.Com for more in-depth perspectives on other flashlights.

Enjoy!

carrot

Flashaholic
Welcome to CPF!

I have never tried the lights you mentioned but I have heard a lot of praise about the Metal Gear here.