Advice on car alarm systems?

goldenlight

Enlightened
There have been a rash of car break-ins in my area. My car still has 4 small gouges in the vinyl on the driver's door panel where some inept (thankfully) would be thief couldn't get to the door lock tab, from last summer.

So I'm thinking it's time to put in a car alarm system. I know absolutely nothing about auto alarm systems, so I would appreciate any and all advice:

Features that are 'must have'.

Features to avoid.

Features that add to the cost, complexity, and end up being a PITA.

Brand name(s) to look for, and brand name(s) to avoid.

What to look for when picking an installer. Also what sends up a red flag, to avoid a 'bad' installer.

About how much I can expect to spend.

TIA

D

dedlewamp

Well, I really can't answer all your questions, as I'm no expert when it comes to car alarms. But, you can't go wrong with Directed Electronics. I very large portion of the alarms out there, are made by them.

As for features, I would look into a two-way paging system. A blaring alarm in the middle of the night usually only annoys people. A two way alarm will page your keyless remote from up to 1.25 miles on some models, and let you know what your car is up to. The paging models usually come with more features as well, such as remote start, onboard relays, etc.

Installation is by no means easy, but with a basic knowledge of automobile wiring and connections, you can easily install one yourself in your driveway, in under 1/2 a day. Just make sure to solder all your connections, hide everything as best you can, and don't slack off on anything.

I would also look into getting a second sensor for the alarm, as most alarms only come with a shock sensor. A digital tilt sensor is good if you have aftermarket wheels, or want to know if your car is being jacked(lifted). Microwave sensors can dectect people near your car, or if a window is left open, inside your car.