Newbie Looking for Help and Opinions

Squid27WFD3

Newly Enlightened
Hi everyone i'm new here but yall can tell that already

I am a Firefighter and a Pest Control Tech when i'm off duty.
I am looking for a ideas on lights to use for both fields

My main carry light in my gear is my Streamlight Survivor cliped to my bunker coat.a Garrett on my helmet and i also carry a Mag Light Mini AA in my bunker pants for a backup

in my box for pest control i carry a 2 D mag light and a AA Mini Mag on my belt i have a maglight 3 D cell and a AA Mini Mag for my inspections and seeing in attics and crawl spaces

i am looking for something bright and cost effective that i can afford on a Civil Servent Salery which as many of you know isn't a hell of a lot

Any recomendations would be great

Thanks
Dan

Blindasabat

Flashlight Enthusiast
Yeah, let us know specifically what you are looking for. Are your current lights bright enough for your needs? Do you want brighter or longer run time than you have now? Do you want smaller size than Mag D-cells or is that size OK? Do you like and/or need the focusability of the Maglites?

There are many upgrades for your AA and D cell maglights. Some incandescant, some LED. The incan mods are often for more brightness at sacrificed run time. The LEDs are often less bright but will run a lot longer. Some LED mods are just as bright and still run longer, some are brighter than stock bulbs, but will be expensive and harder to do. There are several good drop-in LED modules that directly replace the D-cell bulb for less than ~$30. I just got a used EverLED (reviewed on Flashlightreviews.com) that is just as bright as stock with a whiter beam, still focuses, and will stay brighter far longer. Something like that will pay for itself in batteries if you use it a lot.