smallest yet brightest in its class

marxs

Enlightened
im not sure if this has been asked before, im a newbie flashaholic...but i was wondering what are the smallest (by small i mean around the 4"-4.5" long max length) leds out there packing a big punch? so far i have on my short list edc's, fenix P1, amilite...well thats about it.. any others?

Taylorf

Enlightened
Are you looking mainly for cr123 flashlights, or are cr2 lights fine too?

Some cr2 lights:

Orb Raw
Raw NS
Jil lights
Ion

Macaw

Enlightened
The Fire-fly III has been measured at over 70 lumens, but it can only safely sustain that brightness for a very short time. The CPR Special/Ranier is a throw monster for it's size, a most formidable contender when used with a Li-Ion cell. Then there is the HDS EDC U85 which is supposed to come back into production. The Surefire L4 measures about 4.6" and has a good 80 lumens of output at least, they are rated at 100 lumens and some will achieve that output. Some folks have used 1x123 cell bodies on the L4 and have retained high output using 123 Li-Ion cells, and with about an inch shorter length.

Last edited:

Lynxis

Newly Enlightened
Probably the GatLight v2 will be amongst the very best 123 designs
that can properly handle heat-dissipiation along with the circuitry
to monitor heat being generated and automatically switching to
protect the LED...

Heat dissipiation is a big issue for any amount of prolonged runtime.

I own a Fire-Fly-3 // which is a best-in-class // and rated brightest
123 type... BUT is can not sustain the brightest level for more than
a minute or so because of heat.

The GatLight has a very unique heat-dissipiating design!

carrot

Flashaholic
Surefire E1L definitely packs a punch. Its lumen ratings may not be high, but it can throw with the best of them... and even throws almost as well as my Surefire A2.

Then don't forget the Larry Lights...

ouchmyfinger

Enlightened