2c tri mod help

cdog

Newly Enlightened
Wassup guys can you help me build my 2c TRI flashlight. I'm new at this and excited to build one.. I'm thinking about running the 2 lithium battery 2x18500 or 2x18650. Which one would fit better with my 2c being uncut? I've heard 2x18500 works well but I never tried it. I was also planning on wiring the luxIII star bin TX1J in parallel with 20mm ims reflector on a tri sink …What do think about me running the shark converter board??? Pls. let me know what else parts I need and if u had any other ideas for this project.

Parts list

2c maglite stock uncut

Shark converter

Tri star c sink

20mm ims reflector

White luxIII star bin TX1J

PhotonAddict

Enlightened
Welcome cdog,

2x18500s should fit - some protected cells might be a bit longer so you may have to trip the tailcap spring a bit so that you don't put too much pressure on the cells.

2x18650s would extend into the tailcap so you'll have to remove the stock spring, remove the anodizing on the inside of the tailcap and a slip something in there to provide electical contact between the base of the cell and the tailcap. Some CPFers use a minimag tailcap spring with the larger end partially uncoiled. A little more work, but you will be rewarded with longer runtimes.

The shark converter will work fine but the lux stars should be wired in series, not parallel. Other than that, you could also try using an external potentiometer with the shark so that you can have variable output.

Good luck and let us know how it turns out.

Last edited:

PhotonAddict

Enlightened
The shark is a boost converter, so he has to ensure that the source voltage is below the Vf of the load.

Two freshly charged LiIons is approx. 8.4V. If the LEDs are in parallel, the voltage of the output load will be the Vf of a single LED which can be as low as 3.27V when driven at spec. Wiring them in series increases that to at least 9.81V (3x3.27).