Can I use a regular Sharpie to write on CD-R/DVD-R blanks

Marty Weiner

Flashlight Enthusiast
I've got a lifetime supply of regular Sharpies and the "special" CD-R/DVD-R Sharpies are about $8 for a 4-pack.

Is there really a difference?

BTW: I was just at Office Depot and they have a stack of their branded 100 DVD/R for only $19.99. I thought that was a very good price.

Last edited:

scott.cr

Flashlight Enthusiast
I've heard stories of regular Sharpie ink causing the disks to go unreadable after the written-on disk ages. Personally I have not had this problem, but then I don't have any written-on CDs I keep in an "extreme" environment like the car.

roknrandy

Newly Enlightened
I've been using regular sharpies for 8 years now on cd's and have never had a problem yet

Alin10123

Flashlight Enthusiast
I've used sharpies before with no problems. However... i haven't taken the burned CD's out into the car or anything. I dont really listen to CD's anymore. The CD's i burn and label are data backup CD's. If you are really worried, worst case scenario go out and spend only a couple of dollars on a CD marker. Those will 100% be perfect for the CD's.

Marty Weiner

Flashlight Enthusiast
Alin10123 said:
I've used sharpies before with no problems. However... i haven't taken the burned CD's out into the car or anything. I dont really listen to CD's anymore. The CD's i burn and label are data backup CD's. If you are really worried, worst case scenario go out and spend only a couple of dollars on a CD marker. Those will 100% be perfect for the CD's.

I only burn data CD's but I can't find the "special" pens individually. I will just use a "regular" Sharpie and make sure that I don't store them outside of my A/C'd house (it's 111 outside right now. Ouch!)

Last edited:

Arkayne

Enlightened
I wonder if a branded 'cd-marker' is just a rebadged permanent marker.

I've been using Sharpies forever and have never had any problems.

Sigman

* The Arctic Moderator *