Rayovac headlamp mod question/help needed

BugLightGeek

Flashlight Enthusiast
I have one of those Ray-O-Vac headlamps (1 white LED, 2 red LED's, lousy, dim, incandescent bulb) and want to mod it. I've read on here about putting in a LS in place of the incandescent but I am a newbie modder so I am unsure about how to do this. Also, I am suspecting that not only are the red LED's resistored down, but the white as well since it's the dimmest single white LED I own.

Is it possible to remove the resistance from all the LED's? If not, what about just on the white? And, if so, HOW?
confused.gif

Also, does someone have newbie instructions or a process for adding a LS to this light?

If I get in over my head, can I send it to anyone to have them mod it for me?
rolleyes.gif

Thanks!
tongue.gif

Plinko

Newly Enlightened
The red's are running off resistors, since they're only 3volt LED's, and the battery supply is 4.5v. I left the resistor in mine, so as not to pop it. *edit* The white has a different value resistor. I actually like the brightness of the white LED and left it as it is, primarily for reading in my tent at night. One of the red LED's was replaced with a turquoise, and the resistor was bypassed. The unresisted turq seems as bright as the resisted red, but when the batteries get REALLY low, the turq goes out and the red keeps shining for a long time more. I'm getting redundant here, as most of this was mentioned on the other thread.

Lux Luthor

Flashlight Enthusiast
I've heard that there's 2 versions of this light, and I'm wondering if there aren't more. One person said a few weeks ago it had some sort of electronic circuitry. Mine has only mechanical switching and resistors. It also certainly has a resistor for each LED, including the white one.

I wouldn't take it out entirely, though. I did this with a BD Moonlight headlamp, and had one of the LEDs turn puke greenish over time. I would leave an ohm or so in there.

Lux Luthor

Flashlight Enthusiast