E2e or L4 best for my needs?

NickR

Newly Enlightened
Currently I work as a "Security Consultant" and have to assess people's vulnerability to security breaches. I often have to survey mansions with lots of wooded areas around the house. I'm often shining my light across the yard to the tree line or stone wall etc. to check stuff out.

Which light do you think would best suit this need? I'd like something that is small with a clip for EDC. Seems like E2e incandescent or L4 is best choices.

CLHC

Flashaholic
Greetings!

I have the SureFire E2e now (E2E) and it's a great all around light with a decent enough spill and nice "throw" to it. I've had no issues with it what-so-ever. A friend of mine has the SureFire L4, and it is more of a Wall-Of-Light (wide spill) than in the "throw" arena. More like for short to medium range. That's my perspective of it.

Hope you find what you're looking for and Enjoy!

SCblur

Enlightened
The advantage to the L4 is it puts out an awesome amount of light in a wide flood pattern. Good for close to medium range applications, and especially indoors. Lights up a whole room like daytime. Not so good for looking at the treeline across the yard though. E2e would be better for longer range applications, and outdoor lighting, as the incan gives better color rendition outside. The E2e cannot, however, use rechargeable lights. The L4 will easily take a Pila for an hour of full regulation. You might consider an E2e, and a KL4 head. Or even better perhaps, would be an L4 w/ a KL1 head. The KL1 head throws better than the E2e head, and can accept the same rechargeables as the L4. The L4 body will accept the KL1 head no problem.

JasonC8301

Flashlight Enthusiast
Since you use the light so much, how about a Surefire L4 for short/medium tasks as said above (then again the beam is not that hot so it might not work that well in a wooded area, better color rendition with an incandescent light.)