Best way (cheap) to mod a 2D Mag for ultra brightness

PCTECH911

Newly Enlightened
I am a newbie to this forum but think its great! I have a question about a great way to make my 2D Maglite brighter without having to reach far into my wallet. What type of mod should I do??
icon3.gif

Nerd

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hmm.... what's your budget? Luxeon stars are the only way to go if you want bright. But they don't come cheap anyway. Might as well get a MAD MAX or BAD BOY converter from dat2zip. He does some pretty good stuff.

Hemingray

Enlightened
3 C cells with a lengh of PVC pipe or cardboard fax tube of the appropriate ID/OD to make 'em fit, and replace the bulb with 12 or more Nichia
NSWP500BSs. Direct Drive or use a SI diode or resistor to ease up on them. Best lights to modify are like the MagLite, or Eveready or Rayovac "Industrial" yellow plastic 2D lights.
The ones that have the battery compartment physically separated from the bulb, are better and far easier to use than the cheap ones that just press the battery + tip against the base of the bulb. (uggghhhhhh).

If you like red, 2D and replace the bulb with a dozen or more red HP traffic signal LEDs. Bright as heck... The HPs can tahe the 3VDC direct drive in stride. Cheap Radyo Shaq LEDs will become smoke-emitters pretty quickly.

Done both, they do the job...

/ed brown

PCTECH911

Newly Enlightened
I'm looking near the $20-30 range, I want it to be better but not the best, what would I be looking at for the luxeon star? Or the converter? These sound very interesting. I want usefulness, ie. bright blue or high white.

PCTECH911

Newly Enlightened
I also saw a great idea for the 2AAA Mag, replacing the blub with a single 3mm bright LED, where would I get a bright white or blue 3mm???

EMPOWERTORCH

Enlightened
I have just modified a Benross 4033 to 5 Blue Nichia LED's. The 4033 is a 3 cell torch.