So, what's your Day Job?

WAVE_PARTICLE

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hi Guys,

I'm still new in this forum, but was fortunate to get to know a lot of you. I thought maybe, for kicks, we can share our backgrounds and what we actually do for a living.

My background is a little odd. I have a Bachelor's degree in Chemistry with specialization in molecular kinetics, thermodynamics and nuclear physics. I did a thesis the application of artificial neural networks in spectroscopy. I did some research work in the pharmaceutical industry to develop a whole new molecular transport mechanism for a particular experimental vaccine for AIDS.

After my stint in the scientific circles, I went out to get an MBA with specialization in Finance and Investments. After my degree, I hooked up with a startup company who specialized in the development of an all new e-commerce platform (this was before e-commerce was a big thing). I helped the company raise about $10 million in funding before they were bought out by a big U.S. firm (most of you can probably guess who that was). Cashed out my stock options and wound up in one of the big Banks in Canada managing the market risk of their funding and investment portfolios. So, that's where I am now....

So.....that's me. What about you? I'm interested your story of what you do now and how you got there! Likely, your background will be more exciting than mine..... I'm such a boring guy! :grin2:

:thumbsup: WP

cryhavok

Enlightened
Well I don't quite have such a long history being I'm only 20, but I'm currently at University of Miami about to start my 3rd year. I originally was a bs chemistry major but will end up switching to a bs biology major so I can graduate. I applied to a special 7 year medical program there(normal track is 4 years undergraduate and 4 years medical school) and recently found out I was accepted. So I have 1 more year of undergraduate before moving on to UM Miller School of Medicine.