new here, what should i get?

whooda4

Newly Enlightened
hi, im new here and am looking for a light.
I have a couple big eds (im a volunteer fire fighter) and im looking for something that is simular or stronger.

Im looking at some the mag mods but im new to this so i have no idea what everyone is talking about.

A buddy had a mag that he called a mag11. it was pretty good.
im looking for something that wont break the bank, but will still have the "ouch" factor when you look into it.

It will not be used in fires or anything like that so extreme conditions wont be a problem.

I like mags, but i just want something more powerful.

Thanks, and i hope to be making alot more posts here.

carrot

Flashaholic
Welcome to CPF!

Hmm, "won't break the bank" is a pretty subjective question around here. To me, I'd consider that price point to be under $200 but many newbies try to stay lower in price. Since you like Maglites, you may want to look at Tigerlight, which is similar in design to the Maglite, but considered to be far superior to stock Maglites. Do you have a particular budget in mind?

Any amazing Maglite mod will run you over a hundred dollars, but you'll have the satisfaction of building it yourself. I'm not too experienced in that area, so you'll have to wait for other people to chime in on that.

I'm not familiar with the Pelican Big Ed, but as a 4 C-cell flashlight I would expect the output to be similar to the output of a 2-cell Surefire, such as a Surefire G2 or 6P. You may also wish to look into the Streamlight TL3 or Surefire 9P. What do you want to use the light for? The suggestions I've given are pretty general and can apply to many needs but are you looking for just an "amazing" light or something to use for a specific purpose?

TENMMIKE

Enlightened