What's Wrong with Wanting a 'Green' Light?

Fargus

Newly Enlightened
No, not the color green, environmentally green. I've been looking around for a good EDC LED flashlight and, after much research and advice, boiled things down to two choices. Either an HDS EDC U60GT or a Surefire L1. I went looking for possible battery sources online and found several disclaimers that rechargeables weren't intended to be used in Surefire LED lights. I am not experienced in electronics and was puzzled by this disclaimer. I then called Surefire tech support and was told, like it was a point of pride, that NO Surefire LED model will support rechargeable batteries. It was like my question was ridiculous. Is there something wrong with my wanting to cut my operating costs and be friendlier to the environment by wanting an LED flashlight that can use rechargeables? I don't want to be ordering batteries on a frequent basis (I have no understanding why 123A batteries are so popular in LEDs, they aren't easy to find where I live, as a matter of fact coin batteries are much easier to locate/purchase locally), so one of my main qualifications when looking at an LED flashlight is that it takes rechargeables. I use rechargeables in every other battery powered device I own, including incandescent flashlights and lanterns. Why is this a seemingly odd request for an LED light? Just curious.

FlashKat

Flashlight Enthusiast
Most LED flashlights will take rechargeable batteries...My example of what I use.

1- Surefire U2...Li-ion rechargeable 17670, 18650 batteries
2- Streamlight TL-3 LED...RCR123 batteries
3- Streamlight 2L 3W Led... RCR123, 17670 batteries

Note that the 17670 and 18650 batteries run at lower 3.7v voltage..., but runtime last longer than RCR123 rechargeable batteries. They work very well with 2 cell cr123 compatible LED flashlights. Check inner diameter of your flashlight to verify using 17670 or 18650 batteries.

LED_Thrift

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hi Fargus,