Anyone here have to deal w/ being on call when you are not salaried?

jhereg

Enlightened
How does your company handle it? The company I work for has recently picked up a monitoring contract, and I'm going to be on call 1 week in 3. Will have to stay close to home or work, since I have to be able to enter a ticket within 15 min if we get a fault or a call. We are discussing how to work reimbursment since we will be on call, so I'm curious how other companies do it.

FishFan

Newly Enlightened
jhereg,
I'm a PACS administrator for a hospital system. PACS stands for Picture Archival and Communication System-meaning all radiology studies, CT, MRI, x-ray, etc are now digital on computers as opposed to film). I take care of the system.

I am salaried and have been on call since October 2004 (minus 10 days for vacation last year) and my system pays $2.00 per hour for the on-call time. If I can fix the problem from home (or wherever) then I don't get call-back pay. If I have to go into work I make my hourly rate with a 2 hour minimum. I get 126 hours on-call pay every week since . Obviously I don't get the on-call pay while I am at work.

YMMV and I hope that helps.

FF

Mike Painter

Flashlight Enthusiast
That can be a sticky issue, especially if you are highly restricted in your movements.
It depends on the state and at least in California, the job and the hourly rate for that job. Some computer related jobs are pretty much exempt from anything if you make over $41.00 an hour.
There is, or was, the issue of "paid to be waiting" or "waiting to be paid". If you are highly restricted you may be in the former catagory and would have to be paid for the on-call time, even if you sit home.

This is something your company should get legal advice on. Five years from now a disgruntled employee may go to the labor board and if they find he or she should have been "paid to be waiting" *everybody* gets back wages for those years...