Various Led Questions

bazza

Newly Enlightened
Hi all...

Im a bit of a newbie to the world of led Torches and i have a couple of question if someone acan help me out. I live on the west coast of Australia and i guess its just supply and demand but the world of led technology seems to have escaped us down here. I have owned a couple of small multi led torches and they have been ok i guess but really little more than a novelty.

I recently purchased an ALX-553N which i am very impressed with although i agree with other postings on this site about the drive circuit high to low and also the lack of momentary opperation is a bit of an oversight. The basic design of the 553N appears to be the same as the 4 c cell version though mine has a NI-MH 4xN rechargeable pack this gives about 1.5h high 3.0h med 6.0h low and 3.5h flashing. I believe it uses a 5w V led. The brightness is fantastic and all levels are very uniform and the pattern is great at all levels. I have a question about beam pattern. I was wondering if anyone has experimented with reflectors or complete heads to tighten the pattern more than the orriginal head, If this is possible.

I also have a 6d maglite and would be interested in a conversion to led if possible.

Any recomendations on one of the cheapy chinese made e-bay type led torches. I am looking for the tightest beam possible with long range being the main aim. I am looking at using this torch for hunting purposes in conjunction with high a magnification rifle scope.

Any help would be muchly appreciated.

Bazza.............

Sub_Umbra

Flashlight Enthusiast
bazza said:
...I also have a 6d maglite and would be interested in a conversion to led if possible...
Many, many conversions to LED are possible with 3-6d M/\Gs, using both single or multiple LEDs. Many of them do not cost an arm and a leg, either.