Arghh! - Wells Fargo - will have Citibank MasterCard soon - IT'S HERE!

TigerhawkT3

Flashlight Enthusiast
I just got an internship, so I'll soon be dealing with more money than I customarily have. My dad was getting tired of keeping track of my online purchases with his credit card.

So, since he banks with Wells Fargo, he suggested that I go with WF for my Visa as well.

I applied for a student credit card about a month ago, and I still don't have one. WF kept on rejecting my application because of a lack of documentation proving that I'm a student. I've sent in a transcript that shows I was enrolled through Spring quarter and I've sent my schedule for Fall. When I contact WF, they tell me that they need more proof. They wanted a student ID card with my current enrollment status and my current class schedule. They didn't seem too concerned with the fact that student ID cards only display the date they were issued (they only prove that you have been enrolled at a school at some point in the past) and that it's SUMMER. I thought the notion of summer vacation would be more well-known.

This is pretty funny, because I've been getting offers for pre-approved credit cards for months already. When I mentioned this tidbit along with my inclination to accept an offer for a Citibank Visa (pre-approved with no work on my part) to a customer "service" representative, he didn't seem to mind. He asked me if there was anything else he could "help" me with, and instead of asking what his definition of "help" was, I told him "no, thanks" and disconnected.

It looks like I'll have a Citibank Visa pretty soon.

Last edited:

Brighteyez

Flashlight Enthusiast
Re: JEERS to Wells Fargo

Many of the large banks (including both that you mention) use off-shore labor for many of their more mundane tasks. As such, you're more likely to encounter robotic responses with little to no diviation from established guidelines and certainly no evidence of exercising discretion.