Do You Prefer Low Domes?

Peter Atwood

Enlightened
I'm halfway into my first totally custom light. I say "I" but the truth is if it weren't for my buddy's industrial shop and his expert machining know how this project would remain but a distant dream.

The dilemna is I ordered three MicroPuck luxeon star kits from LED Supply. They came with Batwings with 110 degree angle beams. My question: Is this configuration actually desirable? We threw the LED into a reflector that is machined at 60 degrees and light still pores out everywhere, no spot whatsoever. Total flood. Is this going to make a light that anyone would want? I'm thinking we may have to replace the LEDs with high domes if we want any kind of directed beam. What do you all think?

JohnG

Enlightened
I'm no expert, but from reading here,
I would guess a side emitter is what you should try.
Neither low or high domes will give you much of a beam without optics, but the side emitter should make good use of your reflector especially if you can adjust the height of it.

tvodrd

*Flashaholic* ,
Peter,

"Beams" have numerous characteristics. To tighten-up a low dome you will need a parabolic reflector or optical element. Baseline, at least for me, is the NX05 "optic." There are flood reflectors and larger/better optics throughout this forum and somebody else will have some better answers for you. (I'm just killin' time, doin' a burn test:).

Larry

evan9162

Flashlight Enthusiast
Your best bet with the low dome is the NX05 collimator (the one with the flat front). It produces a bright hot spot, slowly fading to a slightly wider beam. The overall beam is very smooth, uniform, and void of splotches or dark spots. It won't "throw" as much, but will give you a nice beam.

-Darin

Peter Atwood

Enlightened
Thanks for the advice guys! I will comandeer some parts from another light and see if we can't get that beam to tighten up a bit.

Rothrandir

Flashaholic