I gave my boss's boss LEDs this morning

TigerhawkT3

Flashlight Enthusiast
Yesterday at my workplace, we had a baby shower for a guy whose wife is having a baby soon. Since I'm just an intern here, I didn't know about it in advance and didn't get him anything. Therefore, I stopped by Fry's on my way home yesterday night and bought a pewter 2D Mag-LED, 2 Duracell D batts, and a Nite-Ize drop-in as a backup/low-stage/power-saving option. My mom wrapped it and gave me a card in which to write a note, and I gave it to him this morning. He seemed extremely pleased with the gift.

Humorously, he wanted to try it in the dark, so we went into the kitchen to shine it around. This gave me an opportunity to compare a real light to those Eveready Economy Bright Light clones ($2 plastic 2D incan) we have scattered around in case of blackouts. The Mag-LED was so much better than the standard here that it would be funny if it wasn't sad.

Questions? Comments? Opinions?

ianb

Enlightened
Always nice to remember the Dad in a Baby shower too :D

I'm not sure the little one will use it much though ;)

Nice gift, I'm not surprised he's pleased, :goodjob:

Ian :)

Brighteyez

Flashlight Enthusiast
That's a helluva gift for an intern. That's very generous of you.
And don't knock those $2 lights; they're effective and serve the intended purpose, and they're always available when you need them (i.e. you don't see anyone stealing them and taking them home do you? :) ).

Of course, that MagLED probably cost more than all of the 'emergency' lights that they have spread out around the building as well ;)

TigerhawkT3

Flashlight Enthusiast
Brighteyez said:
That's a helluva gift for an intern. That's very generous of you.
And don't knock those $2 lights; they're effective and serve the intended purpose, and they're always available when you need them (i.e. you don't see anyone stealing them and taking them home do you? :) ).