Even With Lights On, Still Got Runover

CLHC

Flashaholic
http://enews.earthlink.net/article/str?guid=20060823/44ebd2c0_3421_1334520060823-584179844

The above news article states that a woman came home at midnight and turned into her driveway only to run over her husband who was sleeping. :ohgeez:

I wonder if the lights on her vehicle may be too dim or what, I don't know. Could possibly need better lights, or may not have been paying attention.

How many of you pay attention and see first what may be in your driveway when you turn in to park at dark even with great lights on?

Last edited:

TigerhawkT3

Flashlight Enthusiast
I've been driving for a little over four years, and I haven't even gotten a ticket yet. I credit that to my "classroom" driving instructor (on paper, not in a car). He had many helpful suggestions, the most striking (to me) being "360 degree awareness."

Our next-door neighbors have a wonderful dog (some sort of beagle mix - he's best friends with my Cavalier), but he's an explorer (his name is Chase, so I call him "Chasetopher Columbus" :laughing: ). He often hangs out in his garage, with the door open. If he sees anyone, he immediately wants to run to them to sniff and greet. Whenever I back out of or drive into my garage/driveway, I always make doubly sure he's not running loose, looking for someone to play with.

A few weeks ago, I was making a right turn, and the light was green for me. Some cars ahead of me went forward, and before I made the right, I looked both ways, just out of habit. It's a good thing I did, because a cyclist completely ran a red light and cut between me and the cars in front. If I had just gone through the green without looking, that dude would have been absolutely flattened.

360 degree awareness!

CLHC

Flashaholic
I agree with you on the 360° awareness situation when behind the wheel at all times. More like "cover your six" as they say!