Bought a Scorpion

webley445

Flashlight Enthusiast
Had some spare cash this weekend, so I picked up a Scorpion. WOW! Tested it out in the dog walk area in my complex after dark. This is my usual testing area as there are spots there that fluctuate between pitch dark
to dimly lit. there are also bushes and trees to check how well lights can penetrate.
I work in the security field and am so used
to using the industry standard Mag-Lites. I usually carry a 3-D, have done so a very long time so the beam, power, and reach is what I'm used too and desire.
I am very satisfied with the output from the Scorpion. The light is much whiter, brighter, and cleaner, gives good detail to what I'm looking at. The adjustable focus does not seem as efficient as a Mag's, but I realize this light is meant to be more of a spot (or so this board has taught me). It doesn't have the full reach of the Mag, but if it's beam could be focused more precisely as a Mag does, I'm sure it would reach as far. Honestly I'm not worried about it. the reach is sufficient and the brightness is superior. Normally I would have to catch my dog with the beam focused tightly and hit him at the proper angle while he's pooping in the bushes to get his eyes to "glow". with the Scorp, it's just point and click, I see his eyes reflecting no matter the angle as long as he is facing in my direction. Also I can make out the natural color of his coat and the foliage in this pretty white light.
Also the Scorp sems to do a better job of illuminating vehicle's interior than a Mag,even if the windows are tinted. What I'll miss is the added security of the Mag's heft in my hand when it's dark and I'm alone.

webley445

Flashlight Enthusiast
<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by josh:
get an asp expanding baton.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>