10X DOMINATOR field reliability report

starflash

Newly Enlightened
June 27, 2005 I bought my Dominator on Ebay from West Marine. With shipping it came to $261, a great deal. I'm a boiler inspector, so you can never have light enough. I have my trusty Mag charger for 20 years with no issues other than a few lenses , several bulbs and a wornout tailcap, which waranted a replacement body from Maglite. This was the only time I had to send this light in for repair.

The Dominator is an awesome light, huge output. But it has proven much more fragile than expected.

7/18/05 Bulbs fail after 3 feet drop on its tail.
Repair: Surefire replaces bulbs, get extra B32

10/3/05 Second drop, slipped out of my hand and fell about 3 feet landing on the edge of the reflector.
Damage: Broken glass lens, dented reflector, broken main bulb.
Repair: New reflector, bulb, glass.
Cost: $9 shipping.

10/10/05 Main bulb fails , no shock or anything.
Repair: Shurefire sends new bulb.

10/24/05 Light does not charge anymore.
Repair: Repaired wires in battery module.
Cost: $9 shipping

11/21/05 Bulbs fail, both shortly after each other.
Repair: Surefire sends two bulbs.

2/7/06 Light does not charge.
Damage: failed battery module
Repair: Surefire replaces battery.
Cost: $9 shipping.

7/20/06 Light does not charge.
Repair: Resoldered battery contact.
Cost: $9

I have to say that Surefire stood behind its service every time, hats off.
I have my 10X mounted in the car so it can charge as I'm driving.
Sofar it has been behaving and I'm enjoying its huge output and getting admiring comments. However, for it being a tactical light, I cannot help thinking it is not upto its task. I would not pay $450 for it. It has a fairly easy life with me. I can just immagine the rough life it could have in the armed service or police force.