Good flashlight for electrical/HVAC work?

jernan001

Newly Enlightened
A metal case does make me a little nervous when working arond electrical or control panels. I have a PP4AA Lux but it's a little big for certain situations. I would like something that I can mouth if necessary with good output/run time and decent spill. A pocket clip would be very nice.

Valpo Hawkeye

Flashlight Enthusiast
I've been an HVAC tech and plumber for about 7 years. I carry an Inova X5 for its good soft flood for reading wiring diagrams and navigating basements and the like. It has a great runtime given its daily use. I've never worried about it conducting anymore than "accidentally" grabbing a leg of 3-phase. I'm just always careful and I've never been hit, at least through my flashlight! :)

Terry M

Newly Enlightened
Well, no pocket clip, but the Surefire G2 has served me well for almost a year of service work. My 2 cents.

cy

Flashaholic
a headlamp is a must!

for keeping both hands free when working on high voltage connections.
that and rated insulated gloves...

I favor my streamlight 2x CR123 luxeon headlamp for electrical and plumbing work. Stenlight would have been good for the 6 hour plumbing job I did in an unlit basement.

lightningbug

Newly Enlightened
There were some plastic bodied LED cluster lights for about $5 at Frys. Someone had opened a package and put batteries in it. It was nice and bright. I can't remember if it was 7 or 9 LEDs.

Flash_Gordon

Flashlight Enthusiast
Agree with cy 100%. Use your SL PP Lux for general navigation.

Carry a small (3xAAA or 2AA) headlamp on your tool pouch. When you get to the job at hand, put on the headlamp. You will have both hands free and the light will always be pointed where you are looking. No more of that fumbling around trying to place or brace your flashlight so it points at your work.

This type of work is one of the great places for a headlamp.

Mark

TigerhawkT3

Flashlight Enthusiast