Has anyone ever used the flashing mode on their light

Sharpdogs

Enlightened
I have a few flashlights that have the SOS flashing mode. While it's a neat feature I have never used it. Has anyone here used there's in a real life situation.

Northern Lights

Flashlight Enthusiast
I have never used it, I have never encountered it or heard of it being encountered by others, I work in the public safety sector.

But I plan to use it as a feature with a modified light. The new techniques for blood trail tracking usually use a blue or standard white LED (which is rich in blue) and red LED run simultaneously. The red jumps out and other colors are subdued. A CPF advertising vendors builds a version and the red LEDs flash. The optical illusion is that the blood red jumps out flashing at you 3 dimensional from the back ground. I have tested it with my flashing LED head lamp with red filters and of all things red and blue key chain lights from DAE superglued back to back. It works! So my hunting equipment now has the flashing red lights as I have more than once tracked trails by night.

SilverFox

Flashaholic
Hello Sharpdogs,

I have never used the SOS mode, but use the flashing mode while camping.

We mark our campsite with a flashing light while taking night hikes or kayak outings. This makes it a little easier to locate after star watching.

I have also used the flashing mode on my Big D to illuminate the rear end of a car that was sticking out in the road. It was a dark night and the car had experienced a battery explosion. None of their warning lights were operational.

Tom

Sharpdogs

Enlightened
I like idea of keeping one in the car. Sort of an emergency signal but without using a road flare. I will probably throw a Super Bright in each car. They have the magnetic clip so I can easily hook it to the hood, trunk, etc. Thanks Silverfox.

Pydpiper

Flashlight Enthusiast