New to this world...

anthroPelexis

Newly Enlightened
Hello, I am new to the world of flashlights... well I mean I have used them, but nothing extra special. Anyway, I am interested in a portable, palm-sized High output flashlight.

I have been reading the forums for a while, and seem to be leaning toward a LED light. The Surefire L4 looks like a nice model, but I want to know of other good choices.

I will be carrying this light with me almost always, so it can't be a beast. Also, I want it to be very bright, and last a long time (bulb-wise). Is the LED the best way to go, or traditional Incandescent?

Pretty much it will be used for general lighting, but when I buy something, I want it to be not just adequate, but superb, so IF I am in a situation where I will need a lot of light, I have it with me.

Can anybody recommend me a modest size light with high output and lithium batt source?

Thanks in advance!

Brandon

onlinewarlord

Newly Enlightened
welcome to cpf.

Sounds to me like you are on the right track with the L4. Depending on how much you want to spend a U2 might be option for you. The U2 is slightly larger but is a nice versatile light for general use. The U2 is bright, adjustable, and has a nice mix of flood/throw for an LED. The L4 on the other hand is mainly flood. On the down side the U2 costs a lot more.

I should also throw a boost in there for my favorite the A2! A fantastic little light that gets rave reviews from just about everyone who has seen one in person.

Last edited:

Glock40

Newly Enlightened