Newbie... 4,000 hours battery for LED?

Chelsea378

Newly Enlightened
Ok maybe this is a really ridiculous question...

but I am very new to LED's and battery life.

I was wondering if there is any kinda battery that would allow me

to get at least 4,000+ hours of run time on a white LED that would be

used with a photosensor?

Is this any where near possible???

just a newbie,

-chelsea
:ohgeez:

Flying Turtle

Flashaholic
There is a little light available (Pal Light) that uses a standard 9 volt battery and is able to keep it's LED glowing for over one year. But, this is very dim and not useful except for locating the light or extreme close-up work. In order to power a white LED with the electronics to produce a reasonable, but still quite dim, level for 4,000 hrs I would think at least a 6 volt lantern battery would be necessary. To power a light good enough to see the immediate surroundings well or light up an entrance seems like you might need a car battery. Please wait for the experts to chime in.

Geoff

Everett

Newly Enlightened
Assuming you want to run it at a mid-range current of 20mA:
20mA = 0.02 A
0.02 A * 4000 h = 80 Ah

a normal to large size car battery has this capacity (such as this one: http://www.planetbattery.com/details.asp?id=905 ). of course it will be necessary to use a converter or simply a current limiting resistor to give the LED the voltage it wants. then you need to worry about efficiency losses in the converter, but it may balance out because the battery will perform better than expected at such a low discharge rate.

BentHeadTX

Flashlight Enthusiast
I think Saft makes a 3.0V lithium D cell with a 21,000mAH capacity (I think)

Get a Luxeon and drive it at say 20mA at 2.8V (UWAJ?) and that would be 0.056 watt hours with the battery being 63 watt hours (3V x 21AH) it would give 1,125 hours of light. Figure converter losses in and 1,000 hours can be had. Take four of those batteries and you would have 4,000 hours of light.