9AN in real life

CAinsurgent

Newly Enlightened
This is my first time posting and I'm really glad I found this site- there is a lot of great info here. Anyway, I just attended the Surefire Low-light Operator/Trainer course and decided to try the 9AN to use as my primary duty light.

A little background behind my choice. The current issued light is the Streamlight SL-20 (the full size aluminum one). I like the strength of its beam and it's easy to handle because of its size, for example, putting it under your arm to do things like writing a cite. It seems to have a pretty good run time though I have not actually timed one- if it gets low, I just trade it for a charged one.

Other people have chosen to buy the plastic version of the SL-20 with the LEDs, which appeals to me because of the lightweight and the reduced light option to use for "non-critical" instances. However, the main light isn't as bright as the SL-20. This all led me to try the 9AN. It also helped that Surefire offered a discount.

So, my question to the users of the 9AN is:

-Does it last as long as advertised?
-Can one of the LED conversions be used on this light?
-Does the V71 holster work all right?
-Do you have any side notes or recommendations for the light?

Thanks in advance!

Chris201W

Enlightened
I have no experience with this light and cannot answer most of your questions, but I can tell you, regarding the runtime question, Surefire's advertised runtime is almost always accurate. I think it's safe to say the 9AN with a new battery pack will last the advertised runtime.

Xrunner

Flashlight Enthusiast
CAinsurgent said:
So, my question to the users of the 9AN is:

Thanks in advance!

Welcome to CPF! :wave:

I don't have a 9AN but use a 9N (model before the 9AN).

Yes, runtime on a fresh battery for the new light will usually be pretty close to the specs.

No. While the KL7 fits the 8AX rechargeable there is no LED head for the 9AN.