River Rock 2C @ Target

jayflash

Flashlight Enthusiast
On sale for $23 at my local haunt. It looks nice but I have no experience with the 1.5 watt Nichia Jupiter it uses. It claims regulation and I know it is highly focused.

I tried search but it kept taking me down dark allies without useful info. I will appreciate any help. Thank you for any replies.

Paul6ppca

Flashlight Enthusiast
I got one when they had them 1/2 price,$11.Its very unique like the old inova x1 with a moon beam.It projects a circle of light with no spill.pretty bright.For the $11 its worth it at 23 Im not sure. It is well built and nice size. There is no easy way to mod it.

Kram

Newly Enlightened
I, too, have the River Rock 2C. It does produce a focused beam of light with great brightness and throw. The perfect circle of light it projects is much broader than that of the older version of the Inova X1 and produces an absolutely uniform illumination within that circle. In addition it does have some faint ringy sidespill (enough to keep me from stumbling over something), also unlike the X1. I suspect this light is largely a matter of taste, but I really like mine. It's built like a tank, gives a sense of high quality and I like the characteristics of its beam.

Mark

chevrofreak

Flashlight Enthusiast
I had one of these for a while and really wasnt impressed with it. The light felt good in the hand, but the spot beam was useless for me. I figure the total light output couldn't have been more than 15-18 lumens. The runtime wasn't that good, and it wasn't regulated either.

River%20Rock%202c.png

jayflash

Flashlight Enthusiast
Thanks for the feedback, fellows (non-gender useage implied), your descriptions follow what I found with the River Rock.

I went crackers this month because of my third CPF anniversery. Buying lights was the appropriate action to take, considering the considerable importance of the CPF.