Opps, the flashlight was still on = melted holster. (*with pictures*)

FrogsInWinter

Enlightened
So I was finishing up an inspection at a place (I'm a food inspector), and I sat down to write up the report. After about a minute or so, two things came to mind:
1.) Is someone cooking something?
2.) Why does my left side feel so warm?

Apparently this is what happens when I leave my Pila GL3 (w/ xenon bulb) on inside the holster. So I immediately remove it from the holster and put it on the table. The body of the light was pretty warm but not so hot that it would burn your hand to hold it (I'm guessing around 120 deg. F). The bezel was too hot to hold. Some of the melted nylon from the holster got on my thumb and on the shirt I was wearing. The fumes from the burned, melted nylon made me feel light-headed for a little while but I'm feeling better after a little fresh air. The thing that bugs me is that I was pretty sure the light was off when I last placed it in the holster. I was thinking that maybe the GL3 turned on inside the holster, but that's doubtful considering that the button doesn't stick out very far and you have to press it pretty firmly to switch the light to constant on.
Sorry if the quality of the pictures isn't the greatest but I think they get the point across.

meltedoutside.jpg

meltedinside.jpg

Mikeg23

Enlightened
My Streamlight Strion did the same thing at work one night. It has a twist tail cap and my rubbing up against a pressure bulkhead must have tightened it up. I had a florescent light in there with me so I didn't notice it until I crawled out and stood up and there was light shining through the top flap of my Surefire holster.

Instead of one big hole though there are two small holes you can tell where the hot spot must have shifted at one point.

EngrPaul

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm glad you don't carry a GUN. :naughty:

Last edited:

FrogsInWinter

Enlightened