4D Maglite - Should I upgrade it?

DogLeg

Newly Enlightened
Disclaimer: I am a flashlight newbie.

That said, I've got a 4-D-cell Maglite - naturally it's reflector provides less than a smooth beam (I'm being polite here) and the "rings and holes" in the beam make the light frustrating if not downright useless.

Is it possible to upgrade the reflector with a stipple/stochastic/faceted reflector and upgrade the output power of the bulb, or should I just trash the Maglite?

The Maglite's one redeeming feature is its comforting heft when wandering down a dark hallway trying to find what went bump in the night.

Long John

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hello craigsharrow and welcome at CPF:)

You will have a lot of possibilitys. What DrifT3R mentioned or you could go the Led-way. Single Led drop-in, single Led-mod, multiple Luxeon mod, multiple Lux-drop in.

Best regards

____
Tom

etc

Flashlight Enthusiast
there is lots of info here on MagLED 3W module.

I got it, and I also have the very dim but very long running Nite Ize module.

Both are light years away from the incan lights (pun intended)

Both designs needs heat sinks. For the ultimate, have to go custom at 10x the cost.

hawkz

Newly Enlightened
I think the OP was asking a rhetorical question.

I just upgraded mine to an ROP. One of the simplest mods I did. I ordered 20 sub-c batteries 3600mAh and some shrinkwrap for them. They work great. If you decide to go this route, let me know. I have an extra pack and they'll be a hell of a lot cheaper than cheapbatterypacks.com. Those packs will go for about $33 for 6 sub-c inline cells.

Lit Up

Flashlight Enthusiast
Spend the 15-20 bucks and try the MagLED drop-in, and go from crappy yellow to WHITE.

pilou

Enlightened