K2 Kroma on batterystation rechargeables

LED61

Flashlight Enthusiast
I have learned a lot from good folks here at CPF, now I thought I'd give something back. After much debating and consulting great people here, I finally decided to go ahead and try my new Kroma on rechargeables RCR 123's, as well as some other batteries.

First off, let me begin by stating I am no expert, and my mini review here is merely an experience. I'll leave the volts-amps-tests to the real gurus, and if some of you can add to this post it will be greatly appreciated.

To power the Kroma, I ordered 4 types of batteries from Kevin at Batterystation.com. These were:

1) 900 ma batterystation yellow-red RCR 123A 3.6 volt
2) 1500 ma 17650 (168S) rechargeables
3) Sanyo made in China CR 123A primaries
4) Batterystation 1300 ma CR 123A primaries

I began by fully charging two brand new batterystation RCR123A's, and then let the cells "cool" for four hours. Each of the cells was then run at a timed 15 seconds in my Peak CPF Special to hopefully get rid of any voltage surge on startup for the Kroma which is regulated, whereas the Peak is direct drive--no risk there. Then the cell went into the Kroma body with a slight push, a bit snuger than primaries, but no sweat. I could tell though that after the run and the increase in temperature I was probably going to have to put up a fight to get the cells out.