Reversed American Flag

Wingerr

Flashlight Enthusiast
Anyone know why the flags on the US military uniforms are reversed, with the union on the upper right side, rather than the upper left side, as traditionally done?
Does that have some significance to it?

Sigman

* The Arctic Moderator *
I was in the USAF for 21 years and have never seen that before. Did you see it in a photo? Perhaps the image was reversed or it was a reflection in a mirror?

lessing

Newly Enlightened
I believe that according to flag conduct and military tradition, the field has to be closest to the heart, and its position on the arm requires it to face opposite the usual way. I believe I read this in the same section of flag eddiquite( Yeah I know I can not spell) as the proper way to drape a flag on a casket.

I remember reading this, but I am no expert.

Wingerr

Flashlight Enthusiast
No, not a mirror, I saw it on the program that's currently on television, with the troops making preparations. And it wasn't just on one uniform, they seemed to be on all of them, wearing them on the right shoulder also- is it also traditionally worn on the left shoulder?
Maybe the news program somehow is broadcasting a mirror image (?).

Wingerr

Flashlight Enthusiast
That could make sense, then, if they're wearing it on the right shoulder- wonder why they just didn't wear the regular orientation on the left shoulder then..

Originally posted by lessing:
I believe that according to flag conduct and military tradition, the field has to be closest to the heart, and its position on the arm requires it to face opposite the usual way. I believe I read this in the same section of flag eddiquite( Yeah I know I can not spell) as the proper way to drape a flag on a casket.

I remember reading this, but I am no expert.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">

lessing

Newly Enlightened