Isolating red led's? and advice a/b VB-16?

mcmc

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hello,

Well, my SMJLED into Arc Clone mods went well, but having progressed to VB-16's I find that I am still a total newbie =) I tried to mod in a UX1J to my VB-16 HAIII and while it worked, after a while it would only turn on to a single level (didn't look like max, but somewhere inbetween) and clicking the buttons would slightly increase the output once, and thereafter do nothing. I've contacted Waion to see if there's any hope of getting this repaired by him and currently waiting.

I *think* the problem might have been that the leads off the LED were not trimmed, so that when the reflector (I was using the turbo head) was screwed all the way down, it made the leads (and the wires they were soldered to) touch the heatsink just below the LED, and it shorted something in the circuit...bummer. The Lux I took off there had the leads trimmed real close; if I attempt this in the future I will do the same (didn't do it first time around b/c wanted led to be re-usable if possible). Do you guys think that was the issue? Anyone else tried a VB-16 mod?