Prototype Flashlight - I need advice

frank777

Enlightened
I would like some advice. I am a design engineer working on a prototype flashlight that will use 4 AA batteries. The engineering team is trying to decide which type of beam consumers prefer. One design is a focusable spot powered by a single Luxeon 3 LED, while the other is a floodlight-type beam provided by 25 Nichia 5 mm LEDs. I would be very grateful for your advice as well as your opinions.

Last edited:

Amonra

Enlightened
With focusable beam you mean a fixed focused beam or focusable beam from wide to spot ( like maglight ) ?

A focusable beam ( like maglight ) would be the best of both worlds and preferrable.

Also i would suggest using the new Cree XR-E LEd instead of the luxeon 3 LED as is it twice as bright at the same current and voltage. the Cree XR-E leds also seem to throw farther.

frank777

Enlightened
It focuses from spot to flood, but is slightly different than mag-lite. Our lense system leaves no major rings or holes, but does not provide a beam as wide as a mag-lite's.

MillerMods

Flashlight Enthusiast
I like the use of optics being focusable because I haven't seen it done before. As long as the system is set up to capture as much of the light being produced as possible, then it's a very nice idea.

I've done some basement prototyping using half spheres and reflector combinations with limited success. If your team has managed to come up with a good optics system then I really think you have something here.

The nice part about a flashlight that focuses all of the light being produced into a beam is the amount of throw that should be possible. For the size and power consumed it should be second to none.

stoven

Newly Enlightened