Inova T5 vs PentagonLight L3 vs SF L4 (Now With Photos!)

wacbzz

Flashlight Enthusiast
Ok...definatly a newbie here, but I have done a bit of research. I am looking for some opinions on an Inova T5 vs PentagonLight L3 vs Surefire L4. I want/am looking for the brighter light with the better sidespill.

There doesn't seem to be much out there on the T5. If you read the Inova website, you of course get the generic propaganda..."100 lumens, blah, blah, blah..." so I don't really put much stock in it. Same goes for the PentagonLight site...
rolleye11.gif

I have the Inova XO3 which "supposedly" puts out 82 lumens. Now, all things being equal, this is more than the L3 (@ 75 lumens). Given this to be true, the T5 (@ 100 lumens) should blast the bejesus out of the L3. Would this be true?
sssh.gif

What I don't like about my XO3 are the dark rings around the corona - and there are many. I'm not sure if my light is f'ed up but that really sucks. Since it uses the same TIROS lens as the T5, will the T5 show this as well? That would make me want to purchase the L3.

However (or but [if you will]), I have been reading here about the construction/finish of the L3 being really sucky. Has this improved?

I've also thought about a SF L4 vs the PL L3 but I've seen the comparison photos of the lights and the PL blows the SF away (IMO anyway). But in buying a SF, I know (I own other SF's) that I would be getting a very good light. I'm not that sure with the PL...
Christo_pull_hair.gif

Also, it seems that the price is just about equal on all 3 lights. Wow...

As you can see, this is a tough first post. I have nothing in paticular in mind as far as use for the light - I just know I want it to be very bright and have a good spill.

Any opinions/rants/raves would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Last edited:

iced_theater

Enlightened
Re: Inova T5 vs PentagonLight L3 vs SF L4