Standard LEDS vs. Luxeon LEDS

doc redbone

Newly Enlightened
I see on flashlight packages that Luxeons are 25x brighter than standard LEDs. If so, would a 1W Luxeon be brighter than a 3W standard LED? Don't laugh, I'm kind of new at researching all of this. I am concidering purchasing a 3W AA mini maglite. Would I be better off getting a 1W Luxeon light? Thanks for any info.

nerdgineer

Flashlight Enthusiast
I think by "standard LEDs", the ads are referring to 5mm LEDs which used to be the standard flashlight LEDs 3+ years ago when no Luxeons were available. They nominally ran at about 0.1 W (25 mA at about 3.5V) so a typical (earliest version) 1W lux would have been powered 10 times higher. Nowadays among high power LEDs (Luxes and their equivalent clones/competitors), the wattage rating (1, 3, or 5) refers to the power at which it's more or less designed to run, although the flashlight may actually drive it with more or less (usually less) power.

Given all this, what most of do is look to the various web sites where flashlights are technically compared and measured to find out what a model is really capable of. The best of these sights are flashlightreviews and LED museum.

Lynx_Arc

Flashaholic
What he said.... advertising (inflated, deceptive, even false) is everywhere including flashlights these days. You have to take into account so many factors when comparing lights that it isn't as simple as saying this 1watt LED light should be 1/3 as bright as this 3watt LED light. There is reflectors/optics and the differing quality of LEDs involved which added together you can get lights rated as 1watt outperforming 3watt versions.
Checking out reviews are a must for someone not familiar with brands and their way of putting together lights, that is why there is so many review threads that are of interest here with continuing opinions and beamshots that both the members and manufacturers read to get the *right* light or the light *right*.

frank777

Enlightened