LP0 SE - Did I lose the lottery?

Curious_character

Flashlight Enthusiast
Please be gentle -- I'm new at this.

I just got my new LP0 SE today. It's a very nice light. But I was expecting it to have more throw than it does. I'm trying to find out if my expectations were out of line.

Flashlight Reviews and LED Modifications gives these values for the lux at one meter:

Low: 40
Med: 90
High: 247

My measurements are:

Low: 18
Med: 40
High: 116

So I'm measuring just about half what the review showed. I measured it with both a fresh Duracell alkaline and a freshly charged 900 mAh Sanyo NiMH cell. Initial light output was very nearly the same with both. I'm using one of those $30 lux meters you get on eBay, so I can't claim great precision. But measurements of other lights have been at least in the ballpark of the ones I see in the reviews.

For example, my P1 measures 1061 using the same setup. Flashlight Reviews and LED Modifications gives 950, and the LED Museum 737 for this light.

Ok, maybe the 247 lux in the review was on the high side. The Flashlight Reviews review for the plain L0P gives 183 lux and LED Museum 125. That's quite a difference, but I'm not hitting even the lowest of the two for the plain L0P.

The run time on high is a bit less than the review shows for the plain L0P, dropping to 50% in about a half hour with an alkaline cell and about 45 minutes with a 900 mAh Sanyo NiMH.

The beam is interesting -- unlike any of my other few lights (except the old-style Inova X1), the main beam is very uniform in brightness, and just about the same size as my P1's main beam.

So, should I be disappointed, should I have learned not to put too much weight on the reviews (or my own measurements), or is this just a lesson in playing the Luxeon lottery?

I've read a lot of complaints from folks wanting a lower low setting from their small light. Anybody want to trade?

c_c

EsthetiX

Enlightened