Darn Windows Sys. Restore!!!

freeze12

Enlightened
I was having some minor problems so I used "System Restore" :xyxgun: Win XP Pro. & it made the situation worse. I then decided to undo the restore & what a mistake!!! I cannot get into My operating system... cannot boot from the Windows CD or use Acronis <(which I have never used before) I cannot even boot into safe mode.
Does anyone have any idea how I can either get back into My system or how I can boot from the Windows XP CD to reformat & do a reinstall????
It's either that or another harddrive..... Thanks!

BB

Flashlight Enthusiast
First, boot into the BIOS and check the boot order--make sure that the CD is first in the boot order (and once you fix your system, make sure that the CD is not bootable to prevent accidental boots with an infected CD).

Sorry, I have no information on how to recover the rest of your system... When I messed up an OS on my laptop, I purchased the latest version of Windows (XP 95 Home SP2 in my case), and just booted the CD and let it reintall the OS (at least this saved my data and most of my installed software).

Hated giving Mr. Gates my money--but it was the best I could do... Now, instead of Vista I would try Linux instead.

-Bill

Mad1

Enlightened
If you do reformat you really should turn system restore off.

If you get a virus and manage to clean it and use system restore the virus will just re-appear because system restore will also backup the virus.

Ledacholic Anonymous

Newly Enlightened
I never had a successful recovery with windows system restore. I suggest you get yourself one of those clone program like norton ghost. I clone my system when I have got everything in order.

My suggestion if you have important files in your system is this.
Ask your friend for a clone bootdisk. Clone drive C to an image file. Reinstall your windows. When you managed to bootup, you can retrieve these important files from the backup image (cloned).