Your help and thoughts on building a true wall of light

iamerror

Enlightened
I have been interested in building a wall of light that uses many LEDs (either white or red, probably 5mm) that are evenly spaced apart. I want it to be something that can hang on a wall or stand up on its own. I want the LEDs to be either running at their specs, or be underdriven. Probably using a standard outlet plug would be best to supply the power, so I could just plug it in.

The problem is, however, I have no LED modding experience. Can someone point me the in right direction with this? Even things that may seem obvious to you... as I don't have much of an idea on this sort of thing. Thanks.

modamag

Flashlight Enthusiast
HI Iam,

Could you give us the following info so we can better help.

1. How big and bright of a wall do you want. Lumens/dimension
2. How small does the light have to be.
3. How much is the allocated funds for the projected.

iamerror

Enlightened
Thanks, I want to pay less than $100 for the project. Possibly having a 15 x 15 square of 5mm LEDs about 2 inches apart, so possibly close to 3 x 3 feet in total size. Not quite sure on the brightness, maybe around 500 lumens. I am very flexible with everything: the shape, number of LEDs, brightness, and cost. Is this realistic?

Manzerick

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm interested but am unsure of logistics. Don (McGizmo) did some wild things with LED's in his house.

I'm interested to see how our pro's attack it :)

Nitroz

Flashlight Enthusiast
About 5 or 6 Cree XR-E LEDs will get to the lumens you want.

PM McGizmo about this. I have seen a wall sconce that he made that used LEDs.

Nitroz

Flashlight Enthusiast
Manzerick said:
I'm interested but am unsure of logistics. Don (McGizmo) did some wild things with LED's in his house.

I'm interested to see how our pro's attack it :)

Hehe, beat me to it!

Great minds think alike. :laughing:

Leef

Enlightened