"Dropped my A2" rant

stockae92

Enlightened
i dropped my A2 the other night cause i was carrying a handful of stuff and one thing too many. :(

it was in the sureire nylon holster and was dropped from about 3 feet.

in my case, the holster offers little protection cause the lanyard ring (with no lanyard attached) broke into 3 pieces and there are small nicks on the side of bezel, nothing too serious (considering it was metal bezel vs. the ground).

everything still works (which is good) but the nicks and broken lanyard ring ruin my night (for about 30 min :p then i got over it, lol)

thanks for reading my rant ...

the lanyard is weak in general?

wmirag

Enlightened
I ***hate*** when I drop a mint light.

So sorry yours got banged up.

W.

speederino

Enlightened
Reminds me of a story back in college....

Mind you I majored in music. Inevitably when someone in our trumpet studio got a new horn they would baby the snot out of it for a few weeks. Our trumpet professor would always say "hurry up and scratch it so you can get back to playing it."

Well one guy in particular spent way too much time lovin' on his new horn. He was constantly polishing the silver and rubbing it with a cloth diaper. Our prof finally got fed up one day and asked to play the fine jewel of a horn....needless to say the valve casing didn't get along too well with his wedding ring...."whoops, sorry! Well, now it's got it's first scratch, so you can get back to playing it..."

It may have been a little exteme, but the experience stuck with me. Now, when I use things, and they show signs of use, I don't freak out so much anymore. It still sucks to get that first big blemish on something you treasure, but I've found I DO end up enjoying actually using something a little more after the perfection is gone, most likely because I don't have incentive to be so careful!

diggdug13

Flashlight Enthusiast