EOS optic mod and waterproofness

OceanView

Enlightened
Greetings. I'm new to CPF and never really considered actually tinkering with any of my lights until now. However, I'm intrigued by this mod I've recently run across for the PT EOS--swapping the optic for a reflector. I get the impression that this is now a "classic" mod for the EOS.

I don't have an EOS and don't want to buy one to mod without asking this question first. I've searched but couldn't find an answer. Does getting rid of the optic mean getting rid of the front lens and permanently exposing the inside to the elements? Or does the optic sit behind a clear lens? I want the EOS to remain as water resistant as possible. Thanks for any info.

thezman

Enlightened
The optic is behind the glued in lens. Replacing the optic will not compromise the water resistance of the light. Loosing the big o-ring at the back of the light might let a little water in though. :grin2:

OceanView

Enlightened
Thank you for the speedy reply. I hadn't thought of the o-ring. I'll need to think more about this venture. :thinking: If I want a decent, floody and reliably waterproof headlamp, maybe I should just get the PT Quad instead of trying to mod an Eos. :shrug: We'll see. Thanks again.

thezman

Enlightened
The o-ring comment was kind of a joke. :naughty:

The design of the EOS is a clam shell type, where the back opens up to change the batteries. This area is sealed with the o-ring and modding the reflector won't effect this seal any more than just changing out the batteries would.

Any light that opens like this will have a similar method of sealing the two halves.

I would rate this lights water resistance as very good, and I wouldn't hesitate using it in a severe downpour, but I wouldn't use it as a dive light. :grin2:

OceanView

Enlightened
modding the reflector won't effect this seal any more than just changing out the batteries would